General Election 2014 Endorsements

Teamsters 856 thoroughly vets all endorsements of candidates and ballot measures. Make sure that your vote is for working families.

Statewide Offices
Statewide Ballot Measures
Congressional Candidates
Assembly Candidates
State Senate Candidates
Local Endorsements

STATEWIDE OFFICES* Denotes Incumbent

Governor: *Jerry Brown (D)

LT Governor: *Gavin Newsom (D)

Attorney General: *Kamala Harris (D)

Secretary of State: Alex Padilla (D)

Treasurer: John Chiang (D)

Controller: Betty Yee (D)

Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tom Torlakson (D)

Insurance Commissioner: Dave Jones* (D)

Board of Equalization:

District 1: Chris Parker (D)

District 2: Fiona Ma (D)

District 3: Jerome Horton (D)

District 4: No Endorsement


Statewide Ballot Measures

Prop 43: YES
Safe, Clean & Reliable Drinking Water Act of 2012

Prop 44: YES
State Reserve Policy

Prop 45: YES
Approval of Healthcare Insurance Rate Changes

Prop 46: YES
Drug and Alcohol Testing of Doctors. Medical Negligence lawsuits

Prop 47: Neutral
Criminal Sentences, Misdemeanor Penalties

Prop 48: YES
Referendum to Overturn Indian Gaming Compacts

Prop 49: YES
Amendment to Overturn Citizens United Ruling Question

Congressional Candidates

District 1 Heidi Hall (D)

District 2 *Jared Huffman (D)

District 3 * John Garamendi (D)

District 4 No Endorsement

District 5 *Mike Thompson (D)

District 6 * Doris Matsui (D)

District 7 No Endorsement

District 9 *Jerry McNerney (D)

District 10 Michael Eggman (D)

District 11 Mark DeSaulnier (D)

District 12 *Nancy Pelosi (D)

District 13 *Barbara Lee (D)

District 14 *Jackie Speier (D)

District 15 *Eric Swalwell (D)

District 16 *Jim Costa (D)

District 17 *Mike Honda (D)

District 18 *Anna Eshoo (D)

District 19 *Zoe Lofgren (D)

District 20 *Sam Farr (D)

District 21 Amanda Renteria (D)

District 22 Suzanna Marrero (D)

District 23 No Endorsement

Assembly Candidates

District 1 No Endorsement

District 2 Jim Wood (D)

District 3 Jim Reed (D)

District 4 Bill Dodd (D)

District 5 No Endorsement

District 6 No Endorsement

District 7 Kevin McCarty (D), Steve Cohn (D)

District 8 *Ken Cooley (D)

District 9 Jim Cooper (D)

District 10 *Marc Levine (D)

District 11 *Jim Frazier (D)

District 12 Harinder Grewal (D)

District 13 *Susan Eggman (D)

District 14 *Susan Bonilla (D)

District 15 Elizabeth Echols (D), Tony Thurmond (D)

District 16 Tim Sbranti (D)

District 17 David Campos (D), David Chiu (D)

District 18 *Rob Bonta (D)

District 19 *Phil Ting (D)

District 20 *Bill Quirk (D)

District 21 *Adam Gray (D)

District 22 *Kevin Mullin (D)

District 23 No Endorsement

District 24 *Rich Gordon (D)

District 25 Kansen Chu (D)

District 26 No Endorsement

District 27 *Nora Campos (D)

District 28 Evan Low (D)

District 29 *Mark Stone (D)

District 30 *Luis Alejo (D)

District 31 *Henry Perea (D)

District 32 *Rudy Salas (D)

State Senate Candidates

District 2 Mike McGuire (D)


District 6 Dr. Richard Pan (D)


District 10 Bob Wieckowski (D)

District 12 *Anthony Canella (R)

District 14 Luis Chavez (D)

District 16 No Endorsement

Local Endorsements

Alameda County

Oakland Mayor
Libby Schaaf

San Leandro Unified School District
Evelyn Gonzalez
*Lance James

Ballot Measures
YES on Measure BB

Contra Costa County

City of Concord City Council
*Tim Grayson
*Ron Leone

City of Concord Measures:
YES on Measure Q

Mount Diablo Unified School District Board
*Cheryl Hansen
*Linda Mayo
Michael Langley

Pittsburg City Council
*Sal Evola
*Pete Longmire
Merl Craft

Marin County
NO on Measure R

Marin County Healthcare District
Jennifer Hershon
Jennifer Rienks

Merced County

Pat Lunney

City & County of San Francisco

San Francisco Board of Supervisors
District 2: Mark Farrell
District 4: Katy Tang
District 6: Jane Kim
District 8: Scott Wiener
District 10: Malia Cohen

San Francisco Ballot Measures

NO on Proposition E
YES on Proposition J

San Mateo County

City of Daly City City Council
*Ray Buenaventura
Tom Ledda

City of Pacifica City Council
*Mike O’Neill
Eric Ruchames

South San Francisco Unified School District Board
Rosa Acosta
Pat Murray

Sonoma County

Petaluma Mayor
Mike Harris

Santa Rosa City Council
John Sawyer
Tom Schwedhelm
Ashle Crocker
Chris Coursey

Sonoma County Board of Supervisors District 4 – Dual endorsement
James Gore
Deb Fudge